In case you need more ways to burn time

The interweb is good for a lot of things, the main one being setting fire to large swaths of time. In the event you may need more things to add to the bonfire of time you’ve left behind, I present two;

The first is Hyperbole and a Half, a blog written by Allie Brosh. Her blog is a personal one, the posts consisting of anecdotal accounts of Allie’s life. It is also fucking hilarious. Her writing is strong, and accompanied by MS paint quality imagery (the MS paint quality of the images is intended, and adds immensely to the hilarity). The one thing that struck me most about Ms. Brosh’s writing was that in every piece I read, there was at least one portion that connected directly with my life. For example, in her post titled “Dog,” she writes;

Last night I was sitting on my couch mindlessly surfing the internet when I looked up and noticed my dog licking the floor. Just licking and licking. At first I though maybe I’d spilled something there, but her licking did not seem to be localized to one spot. Rather, she was walking around the room licking seemingly at random.

Now, after a little of teh google I know many people have dogs that lick the floor, but until i read that ‘graph, I thought my dog was losing her shit when I saw her doing it. There were similar things in the other pieces I read, and that, I think, is what makes Hyperbole and a Half so popular; The writer’s ability to connect, through mundane life events, to her readers. For more info, and an interview, see True/Slant.

The second is the Horror Addicts podcast, which you can find in all the usual places, including iTunes. The podcast is pretty much what it sounds like; a horror themed show for horror addicts, by a horror addict. The podcast is produced and hosted by Emerian Rich, also known as EmzBox. Horror Addicts covers a lot of ground every week; movie reviews, alternating goth fashion/books/anime/manga reviews, horror themed events, and a horror short story.

Emerian is an absolute delight to listen to. She has a sweet, childlike voice that is a perfect contrast to the theme of the show. Ms. Rich also offers up a forum for listeners/fans to be involved in the podcast content via reviews, show ideas, event notices, etc.. It is a great, great podcast for anyone who loves horror.

Well there ya go, a couple more ways to burn time, or, if you’re like me, a couple more ways to fuck off and avoid doing any actual work.

4 responses to “In case you need more ways to burn time

  1. Emerian Rich July 15, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    WOW! Thanks for the mention! I’m all blushy and everything. :)

  2. Emerian Rich July 17, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    Well, the show has a lot of help from my rad staff. I don’t do it alone. But I will take the compliment and shut the hell up! Hhehee.

  3. Pingback: Emz Newz « emzbox

Leave a Reply

