Covering Your Tracks – 21


This last week I took the Linux plunge and installed Ubuntu. As my music collection wasn’t yet on this machine, I wanted to add some radio stations to Rhythmbox to give me something lo listen to as I tweeked and learned to move around the OS. After some googling I found SomaFM;

SomaFM is independent, commercial-free internet radio, with 19 unique channels featuring underground electronica, chillout, ambient, downtempo, lounge, space music, indie rock and alt.country/americana. All hand-picked by SomaFM’s award-winning DJs and music directors.

As I was looking through the offerings I saw they had a station dedicated to Covers;

Just Covers, songs you know only not by the original artists. We’ve got you covered.

It is what it says it is. All covers, all the time, by an eclectic mix of artists, covering an eclectic mix of artists. As a cover-junkie all I can say is, “awesome.”

Listen (.pls 128) | Listen (.asx 128)

Since they are listener supported (and commercial free!), and the cost of bandwidth can add up, drop by and kick in a few bucks. Also, you can find ’em on teh twitter.

Leave a Reply

