Covering Your Tracks – 27

I’ve never been much of a fan of the Christian music scene. I have nothing against it, but as an atheist, it just has never appealed to me. Well, with one exception; the 80’s hair-metal band Stryper, and their 1986 release To Hell With the Devil. The Song “Honestly” is one of the songs that my wife and I call “our song.”

To celebrate their 25th anniversary, the band is releasing an album of cover songs titled The Covering. On The Covering the band covers some unlikely material. There is irony somewhere in Stryper covering Black Sabbath’s “Heaven & Hell.” Also among the 12 tracks on the album are Judas Priest’s “Breaking the Law,” Ozzy’s “Over the Mountain,” Iron Maiden’s “The Trooper,” and Kansas’ “Carry On My Wayward Son.”

My favorite, at least after one listen [ it’s been leaked for some time, apparently ;) ] is the cover of Kiss’ “Shout it Out Loud.” I’ve always loved the original, and I think I love the cover even more. Its not a whole lot different from the original except that the musicians in Stryper have far more talent than Kiss, and they spruce the track up with some ‘o that old hair-metal magic.

[ Stryper covering Shout it Out Loud | 03:14 | 5.21mb | mp3 ]

Leave a Reply

