one and done, 3

atom-ondOne and Done is a collection of posts exploring the bands from my music library that have, for whatever reason, released only one album. This time we are going to take a look at 2004’s The Crash of ’47, the lone release of the band Atomship.

Back in 2005 or 2006 last.fm introduced me to Atomship and Crash.. via the “similar bands” function. I was hooked immediately. At the time P2P sharing was all the rage, and I thought I’d try to get in on some of that. No luck. Dead seeds, fakes, virus infested zip files, all thwarted my efforts to procure this fucking awesome album. Finally I broke down and bought it.

What set this record apart is that it was different than the cookie-cutter nu-metal flooding the zone at the time. The Crash of ’47 is emotionally charged, the music is heavy, and feels urgent, sometimes almost desperate, and its filled with super/para-normal references (it is after all, named after the famous Roswell crash).

I don’t know why Acroma or keddaH split after the one release, but I have a theory about Atomship. I think once they were done, and listening to the final product, the band members were all like, “well, we’re boned. there’s no way we’ll ever top that.” Could be, because it is nearly flawless. In reality? the band could never get, or stay, on the same page. Some members quit the biz, and others went on to other projects, including Papercut Massacre.

Though Atomship didn’t go on to create more music, they at least left us with The Crash of ’47, and for that I, for one, am damn grateful.

Here’s some sample listening (the 1st is my favorite track, and the 2nd is the promoted single from the album):

[ Mothra | 05:26 | 8.7mb | mp3 ]
[ Pencil Fight | 03:36 | 6mb | mp3 ]



 Atomship – The Crash of ’47:
atomship - the crash of '47 1. Day of Daze
2. Mothra
3. Dragonfly
4. Pencil Fight
5. Withered
6. Agent Orange
7. Time for People
8. Aliens
9. Whitifield
10. Friends
11. Plastic People

/ grab it from amazon or iTunes /

Comments are closed.